Small Business Marketing & Growth Blog | Service Direct

How Much Do Service Direct Pest Control Leads Cost?

Written by Service Direct | Mar 31, 2023 10:12:00 PM

Lead generation can be an integral part of your pest control business strategy for multiple reasons. By partnering with a lead generation company, you can generate a consistent flow of potential customers or clients. As a small business, you rely on customers to sustain your business and generate revenue. 

With effective lead generation strategies, you can identify and engage with people who are actively seeking pest control services. This targeted approach saves you time, effort, and resources by focusing your marketing efforts on individuals who are more likely to convert into paying customers.

Companies like Service Direct who have been working with pest control companies big and small for over 15 years are able to take a significant amount of the guesswork out of lead generation. This way you can focus on what you do best—providing top-tier pest control solutions to your customers—while we drive leads directly to you. 

Of course, we understand that with small businesses nothing is quite as simple as deciding to partner with a company or implement a new strategy. You need to know key information such as how much lead generation will cost. This blog will help give you a better idea of how much pest control leads cost at Service Direct as well as the factors that influence that cost.

What Types of Leads Do Pest Control Companies See?

The first step to knowing how much you might pay for leads with Service Direct is understanding the 2 types of leads that you might receive. Once you have a grasp on the different types and which ones will work best for your strategy, you’ll be able to look closer at your budget. 

At Service Direct, we offer 2 types of leads for our pest control clients: form leads and phone leads. There are key differences between them that affect lead cost, which we will go into next. 

Pest Control Phone Leads

Phone leads refer to potential customers who contact your pest control company directly via pay per call lead generation. These leads are typically more immediate and have a higher level of engagement.

Plus, at Service Direct, we only offer exclusive leads, which means you don’t have to compete with other pest control companies in your area for that call.

When customers call, they are actively seeking pest control services and are often ready to discuss their specific needs and schedule an appointment. Phone leads provide an opportunity for direct communication, allowing the pest control company to address any questions or concerns immediately, build rapport with the customer, and potentially close the sale on the spot. 

While phone leads can be time-consuming, as it requires a live conversation and may not always be convenient for either party, they are going to be the ideal form of leads for many service-based businesses like your pest control company.

Pest Control Form Leads

On the other hand, form leads are generated when potential customers submit their information through an online form on your website or landing page. These leads typically provide basic contact details and a brief description of the pest problem or service request. 

Form leads offer convenience for customers, as they can fill out the form at their own pace and at any time that suits them. Top that off with the fact that many people aren’t willing to pick up the phone and call anymore, and you may find that form leads are what you want to focus on. 

Additionally, form leads provide a record of customer inquiries that can be easily managed and tracked. Companies can use automated systems to capture form leads and respond to them in a timely manner. 

While form leads may require follow-up communication to gather more information or schedule an appointment, they can be more scalable and efficient as they allow for streamlined lead management processes.

How to Choose Cost Per Lead for Pest Control Campaigns

How much do pest control leads from Service Direct cost? It really is up to you. Our system puts the cost per lead (CPL) in the hands of our clients, allowing them to pick a price point that they think is fair and competitive.

We structure our pricing this way because we understand that the value of any given pest control lead is ultimately determined by how successfully the company that it goes to can convert the lead into a paying job. 

Think of it this way: If Business A purchased 10 leads, which they were able to convert into 7 paying jobs, those leads are pretty valuable, because they resulted in revenue. Now, imagine those same leads instead went to Business B, who was only able to convert on 4 of them. All that changed was the company’s ability to close the deal, and the value of the leads nearly halved.

By giving your the ability to set your own CPL, we’re essentially asking you to think about how much value you think your company will be able to get out of an incoming pest control lead.



Your CPL will also be impacted by how well your competition can close on leads. You might be tempted to set your CPL as low as possible to save money, but because others in the market value their leads more highly (and set CPLs to match that valuation), ultimately you will just be reducing the number of leads coming into your business. The lower your CPL, the fewer leads you’ll get. 

Establishing a competitive CPL is vital when it comes to driving quality pest control leads. A higher CPL enables us to bid on the best leads, thereby increasing the influx of new customers to your pest control business. This is why we also enable you to adjust your CPL at any time as a measure to increase or decrease your lead volume to meet your changing business needs.

Working with industry experts to determine the ideal cost per lead is paramount. Your choice of CPL will significantly impact the effectiveness of your lead generation journey, and each company may have a distinct range of CPLs that have proven to be successful. 

How Location Affects Pest Control Cost Per Lead

Along with each lead generation company having a different range of recommended CPLs, there will also be a variety of CPLs that will allow you to be successful based on your location. In other words, where you are located plays a huge role in how much you’ll need to spend to see success with lead generation. 

For instance, in the first 3 months of 2023, the average cost per lead nationwide for our pest control campaigns was around $55. But when you look closer at Texas, for example, the average CPL was about $64, so nearly $10 more than the national average. And looking even closer at a city, such as Houston, the average CPL was only $40, which is $15 less than the national average. 

Clearly, location plays a huge role in the CPL that you might need to set in order to be successful with lead generation.

Finding the Average CPL for Your Area

With all of that in mind, the best way to find out what you might pay for each lead would be to contact one of our expert account executives. They will be able to quickly pull some numbers for your location and industry. 

Then, if you combine that with the average lead volume in your area, you will be able to determine if Service Direct lead generation is a good fit for you to grow your pest control business!